Long Term Recovery Groups

A long term recovery group (LTRG) is a cooperative body that is made up of representatives from faith-based, non-profit, government, business and other organizations working within a community to assist individuals and families as they recover from disaster.

LTRGs are as varied in their structure as are the communities in which they work. The personality and operation of each group is unique and reflects local needs, available resources, cultural diversity, leadership style, and community support. No matter how a group is structured or what it calls itself the goal is the same: to unite recovery resources with community needs in order to ensure that even the most vulnerable in the community recover from disaster.

Active LTRGs in South Dakota:

Coverage Area of Current Long Term Recovery Groups in SD

Central South Dakota

Burke Area LTRG

Coverage Area

Counties:  Gregory

Cities:  Burke

Cheyenne River LTRG

Coverage Area

Counties:  Cheyenne River Reservation, Dewey, Ziebach

Cities:  Dupree, Eagle Butte, La Plant, Red Scafold, Timber Lake

Crow Creek Hunkpati Oyate LTRG

Coverage Area

Counties:  Crow Creek Reservation, Buffalo, Hughes, Hyde

Cities:  Fort Thompson, Highmore, Pierre

Oahe Long Term Disaster Recovery Group

Coverage Area

Counties:  Hughes, Stanley

Cities:  Blunt, Fort Pierre, Harold, Hayes, Pierre

Sicangu LTRG

Coverage Area

Counties:  Rosebud Indian Reservation, Gregory, Lyman, Mellette, Todd, Tripp

Cities:  Mission, Rosebud


Northeast South Dakota

Sisseton LTRG – Pending

Coverage Area

Counties:  Sisseton Wahpeton Sioux Reservation, Codington, Day, Grant, Marshall, Roberts

Cities:  Agency Village, Enemy Swim, Sisseton


Southeast South Dakota

Canton LTRG - Dormant

Coverage Area

Counties:  Lincoln, Union

Cities:  Canton

Delmont LTRG - Dormant

Coverage Area

Counties:  Charles Mix, Douglas

Cities:  Delmont

Lake Area Recovery Network

Coverage Area

Counties:  Lake

Cities:  Chester, Lake Herman, Lake Madison, Madison, Ramona, Rutland

Sioux Empire COAD

Coverage Area

Counties:  Lincoln, Minnehaha

Cities:  Canton, Dell Rapids, Harrisburg, Sioux Falls

Wessington Springs LTRG - Dormant

Coverage Area

Counties:  Jerald

Cities:  Wessington Springs

White Swan Community LTRG

Coverage Area

Counties:  Charles Mix

Cities:  Lake Andes, White Swan

Yankton County LTRG - Pending

Coverage Area

Counties:  Yankton

Cities:  Yankton


Western South Dakota

Custer County LTRG

Coverage Area

Counties:  Custer

Cities:  Custer

Hot Springs LTRG – Pending

Coverage Area

Counties:  Fall River County

Cities:  Hot Springs

Northwest LTRG - Pending

Coverage Area

Counties:  Butte, Harding, Meade, Perkins


Pine Ridge LTRG

Coverage Area

Counties:  Pine Ridge Reservation, Bennett, Jackson, Oglala

Cities: Kyle, Manderson, Oglala, Pine Ridge, Porcupine, Wanblee